Peptides12 min read

Pancragen Peptide: Benefits, Dosage & What the Research Shows (2026)

Published September 18, 2026Updated September 18, 2026
Quick Brief

Pancragen peptide (KEDW) explained: the studies behind it, the dose they actually used, why vendor vials hold 400x more, side effects and what it cannot do.

Pancragen Peptide: Benefits, Dosage & What the Research Shows (2026)
Pancragen (20mg)

Procurement

Pancragen (20mg)

In StockShips from USA
Get Pancragen (20mg)

Your pancreas does not take requests.

It works quietly for decades, then starts slipping — and by the time a fasting glucose reading looks wrong, the slipping has been going on for years. If you are reading about Pancragen peptide, you already know that. You have probably also noticed that every page selling one says roughly the same thing in roughly the same order.

This one is different in a specific way. I pulled the actual studies behind Pancragen peptide, checked the doses they used, and compared them to what the vials on sale actually contain. The two numbers are not close.

Last Updated September 18, 2026
KEDW The four amino acids that make up Pancragen: Lys-Glu-Asp-Trp
50 mcg Daily dose used in the monkey studies, given by injection for 10 days
33 People with type 2 diabetes in the only published human study
0 Registered clinical trials of Pancragen anywhere in the world

🔑 Key Takeaways

  • Pancragen is a four-amino-acid peptide, Lys-Glu-Asp-Trp, built for the pancreas by the Khavinson group in St Petersburg. It was designed from a sequence pattern rather than isolated from tissue.
  • There is real published work behind it, and it is smaller than the marketing suggests: a handful of lab-model papers, two monkey studies, one cell-culture paper, and a single human study in 33 people with type 2 diabetes.
  • The published dose is measured in micrograms. The vials on sale hold 20 milligrams. That gap is the single most important thing on this page.
  • The molecule in the studies was the amidated form, KEDW-NH₂, protected against gut enzymes. What vendors ship is usually the plain free acid, which is not the same compound.
  • In the only head-to-head test, an ordinary diabetes tablet lowered glucose harder than Pancragen did — which tells you what tier this sits in.
  • Nobody has ever run a registered clinical trial on it. What that means for you depends entirely on what you were hoping it would replace.

Here is what the evidence actually says, in the order it was published, and what changes once you compare it against the vial in your hand.

What Pancragen Peptide Actually Is

Four amino acids. That is the whole molecule.

Pancragen is lysine-glutamic acid-aspartic acid-tryptophan, written KEDW, and it belongs to the family of short peptide bioregulators developed at the St Petersburg Institute of Bioregulation and Gerontology under Vladimir Khavinson, who died in 2024. Each compound in that family is assigned to one organ. Pancragen is the one assigned to the pancreas.

The origin story matters more than vendors let on. KEDW was not found in the pancreas and then studied. A 2006 paper describes the actual method: the group compared the amino acid sequences of insulin-releasing polypeptides, spotted a four-residue fragment they all shared, and synthesised it in a form protected against the enzymes in the gut. The peptide was designed, then tested. That is the same pattern as Epitalon, and it is worth knowing before you read a product page describing KEDW as a natural pancreatic peptide.

There are two pancreas products in this family and people mix them up constantly. Suprefort is a peptide extract taken from pancreatic tissue, sold in capsules, with no single defined sequence. Pancragen is the synthetic four-amino-acid stand-in for it. Same shelf, same marketing, different substance — and only one of them has the study list below.

What the Research Actually Shows

Less than the headlines, more than nothing.

Every study below comes from the same institute. That is not automatically damning, but it does mean nobody outside the group that invented the compound has confirmed any of this.

Timeline of Pancragen studies from 2005 lab models to the 2011 human study, ending with zero registered clinical trials
Every published Pancragen study, in order. All of them come from one research group in St Petersburg.

The lab-model work, 2005 to 2008

The earliest papers used induced diabetes in lab models. A 2006 study reported that the peptide partially restored insulin synthesis, with the shape of the sugar curve coming back toward normal. The proposed mechanism was oddly specific: the authors suggested the peptide activates the promoter region of the preproinsulin gene by binding complementary nucleotide sequences.

A 2008 paper added a detail almost nobody quotes. Given by mouth, the peptide produced a pronounced glucose-lowering effect during treatment. Given by injection, it did not change capillary permeability but did normalise the stickiness of capillary lining cells. Different routes, different effects — which is inconvenient for any page that tells you the route does not matter.

The cell work, 2013

In aging pancreatic cell cultures, markers of cell identity fade. A 2013 paper reported that Pancragen pushed several of them back up — Pdx1 and Ptf1a in the enzyme-producing cells, and Pdx1, Pax6, Pax4, Foxa2 and Nkx2.2 in the islet cells. This is the paper behind every "supports beta cell differentiation" claim you will read. It is cell cultures, and the authors say so.

The monkeys, 2015 and 2018

This is the strongest work in the file, and it is small.

Old female rhesus monkeys received 50 micrograms a day by intramuscular injection for 10 days. Glucose cleared faster afterwards, insulin and C-peptide responses normalised, and part of the effect was still measurable three weeks after the last injection. That last detail is genuinely interesting: a ten-day course that outlasts itself by three weeks does not behave like a drug that simply lowers glucose while it is present.

Then, in a follow-up, nine old monkeys were split: five on Pancragen at the same dose, four on glimepiride, a standard diabetes tablet. Both lowered fasting glucose. But the tablet produced the stronger and longer glucose-lowering effect. Pancragen's edge, if it had one, was in normalising the insulin and C-peptide pattern rather than in dropping the number.

The human study, 2011

One study. Thirty-three people with type 2 diabetes, plus 30 healthy older adults for comparison.

The finding that the authors led with was not about glucose at all: nocturnal melatonin production was 70% lower in the diabetes group than in healthy people of the same age. In the group given Pancragen, fasting glucose fell, glucose on the tolerance test fell, and both insulin levels and the insulin resistance index came down. The people who did not receive it showed no change.

That reads well. Now the part that belongs next to it: the abstract describes no randomisation, no blinding and no placebo, the work was published in a single journal by the group that developed the compound, and the dose is not stated in the abstract. This is the sum total of human evidence for Pancragen. One study, 33 people, never replicated by anyone else.

The number that puts it in context: a search of the global clinical trials registry returns zero registered trials for Pancragen or KEDW. Not zero completed, not zero published — zero ever registered, in any country, for any indication.

The Gap Between What Was Studied and What Is Sold

This is the part no product page shows you.

Comparison showing the 50 microgram daily dose used in Pancragen studies against the 20 milligram vials and 1 to 2 mg doses that vendors sell
The published dose and the vendor dose differ by more than an order of magnitude, and the molecule is not identical either.

The monkeys got 50 micrograms a day. Vendors sell 20 milligram vials, and the dosing pages that circulate suggest 1 to 2 milligrams a day. One milligram is twenty times the daily dose given to a monkey, before you adjust for the fact that a rhesus monkey weighs a fraction of what you do.

Nobody has published what 1 to 2 milligrams of KEDW does in a person, because nobody has given it. The dosing numbers on aggregator sites did not come from the literature. They came from the vial size.

The second gap is the molecule itself. The studies used Lys-Glu-Asp-Trp-NH₂ — the amidated form, capped at one end specifically to survive digestive enzymes. Vendors generally ship the free acid. Those are two different compounds with the same four-letter abbreviation, and a certificate of analysis confirming "KEDW" does not distinguish them unless the mass is checked.

None of this makes Pancragen useless. It does mean the honest description of anyone using a 20 mg vial today is that they are doing something nobody has studied, guided by numbers nobody measured.

What People Use Pancragen For, and What Is Established

Start with what people want from it.

The searches that bring people to this compound are about blood sugar creeping up, an A1c that moved the wrong way, a pancreas flagged on a scan, or the general sense that metabolism is not what it was at 35. Those are real problems and they deserve a straight answer about what this peptide can and cannot touch.

Claim
Evidence level
What was actually measured
Verdict
Lowers fasting glucose
One human study, two monkey studies
Fasting glucose and tolerance-test glucose fell in 33 people with type 2 diabetes; basal glucose fell in monkeys
Supported, at microgram doses, never replicated independently
Improves insulin sensitivity
One human study
Plasma insulin and the insulin resistance index both came down
Single study, no blinding described
Regenerates beta cells
Cell cultures only
Differentiation markers rose in aging pancreatic cell cultures
Overstated. Marker expression in a dish is not a regrown pancreas
Supports digestion
Indirect
Enzyme-cell markers rose in culture; no study measured digestion in a person
Not established
Reverses type 2 diabetes
None
No study followed anyone long enough to test this
No support whatsoever
Lowers fasting glucose
Evidence level
One human study, two monkey studies
What was actually measured
Fasting glucose and tolerance-test glucose fell in 33 people with type 2 diabetes; basal glucose fell in monkeys
Verdict
Supported, at microgram doses, never replicated independently
Improves insulin sensitivity
Evidence level
One human study
What was actually measured
Plasma insulin and the insulin resistance index both came down
Verdict
Single study, no blinding described
Regenerates beta cells
Evidence level
Cell cultures only
What was actually measured
Differentiation markers rose in aging pancreatic cell cultures
Verdict
Overstated. Marker expression in a dish is not a regrown pancreas
Supports digestion
Evidence level
Indirect
What was actually measured
Enzyme-cell markers rose in culture; no study measured digestion in a person
Verdict
Not established
Reverses type 2 diabetes
Evidence level
None
What was actually measured
No study followed anyone long enough to test this
Verdict
No support whatsoever

If your blood sugar is genuinely out of range, the compound with a 68-week outcome trial behind it is a GLP-1 medication, and the cheap generic with sixty years of data is metformin — which we compared against a peptide alternative in MOTS-c vs metformin. Pancragen is not in that category and does not pretend to be in the literature. It only pretends to be there on product pages.

Pancragen Dosage: What the Literature Used

Here is every dose that has actually been published.

  • Monkeys: 50 micrograms per animal per day, intramuscular, for 10 days. Both monkey studies used this.
  • Lab models: oral and intramuscular routes both tested, with the glucose-lowering effect reported on the oral route.
  • People: the one human study does not state its dose in the abstract. The literature for this family is written in micrograms, not milligrams.

And here is what circulates online instead: 1 to 2 mg a day by injection, in 10 to 20 day cycles, two or three times a year. That schedule — short course, long gap — is lifted from the general Khavinson protocol used for Cartalax, Vilon and the rest of the family. The cycle shape has a basis. The milligram figure does not.

I am not going to publish a recommended dose for a compound whose only human study is unreplicated and whose sold form differs from the studied one. Anyone quoting you a confident milligram number for Pancragen is quoting the vial, not the evidence.

Side Effects and Safety

The honest answer is that safety here is unmeasured rather than proven.

The monkey paper described the peptide as effective and safe over a 10-day course. No side-effect profile was collected in anything resembling the way a drug's profile is built — no dose-ranging, no long-term follow-up, no adverse-event reporting system, and no published data on what happens at the milligram doses people are actually taking.

Two things are worth flagging specifically:

  • Glucose stacking. If a peptide lowers blood glucose and you are already on a medication that lowers blood glucose, those effects add up. The monkey study put Pancragen next to glimepiride for a reason — they act on the same variable. Anyone on insulin, a sulfonylurea or a GLP-1 who adds this without telling their doctor is running an experiment on their own hypoglycaemia risk.
  • Sterility and technique. An injectable reconstituted at home carries the ordinary risks of that: contamination, injection-site reactions, and dosing errors that are easy to make when a vial holds several hundred times a plausible dose.

There are no pharmacokinetic data for Pancragen by any route. Nobody has published what blood level a given dose produces, how long it stays, or how it is cleared. Every dosing schedule you will read was built without that information.

Where Pancragen Sits Among the Bioregulators

It is one of twenty-five, and it is one of the better-studied ones.

That is a low bar, and it is still worth saying: compared with most of the family, Pancragen has a defined sequence, a proposed mechanism tested in more than one model, primate data, and a human study. Several of its shelf-mates have none of that. Our complete bioregulator peptide guide lays out all twenty-five with their sequences and evidence tiers, including the ones where the published sequence is printed wrong.

If you are working through this family, the ones with the most behind them are Epitalon for the pineal claims, Pinealon for the brain ones, and Pancragen here. The rest thin out quickly.

Buying Pancragen: What to Check

Only a handful of vendors carry it, and the standard listing is a 20 mg lyophilised vial. The one price I could verify at the time of writing was $94.97.

Three checks, in order of how much they matter:

  1. A lot-matched certificate of analysis. Not a generic one from the catalogue — the certificate for the batch number printed on the vial you receive. How to read a peptide COA covers what a real one contains.
  2. The molecular weight on that certificate. This is the check almost nobody does. Free-acid KEDW and the amidated KEDW-NH₂ differ by about one mass unit, and the certificate is the only place that difference shows up. If the vendor cannot tell you which form they sell, they do not know.
  3. Who is testing it. A vendor's own in-house number is a claim. An independent lab's report on a numbered lot is a document.

For a broader look at who is worth ordering from, our peptide vendor comparison ranks the sources we have actually checked.

The Bottom Line on Pancragen Peptide

Pancragen is a real compound with real, thin evidence, sold at a dose nobody has studied in a form that differs from the one that was.

If you came here hoping it would handle a rising A1c on its own, it will not, and the one time it was tested against an ordinary diabetes tablet, the tablet won on glucose. If you came here having already read the marketing, the useful correction is the arithmetic: micrograms in the studies, milligrams in the vial.

What it does have is a signal worth noting — a ten-day course whose effect on glucose handling was still partly present three weeks later, in primates, with insulin and C-peptide patterns normalising rather than simply being forced down. That is an unusual shape for a metabolic intervention, and it is the reason this compound is more interesting than most of its shelf-mates. It is also, so far, all there is.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Pancragen peptide?
Pancragen is a synthetic four-amino-acid peptide, Lys-Glu-Asp-Trp or KEDW, developed by the Khavinson group in St Petersburg as the pancreas member of their bioregulator family. It was designed by finding a shared four-residue fragment across insulin-releasing polypeptides and synthesising it, rather than being isolated from pancreatic tissue.
Does Pancragen actually lower blood sugar?
In the published work, yes, at microgram doses. Fasting and tolerance-test glucose fell in a study of 33 people with type 2 diabetes, and basal glucose fell in old rhesus monkeys given 50 micrograms a day for 10 days. That human study has never been replicated by an independent group, and in the one head-to-head comparison, the diabetes tablet glimepiride lowered glucose more strongly than Pancragen did.
What is the correct Pancragen dosage?
There is no established human dose. The monkey studies used 50 micrograms a day by intramuscular injection for 10 days, and the single human study does not state its dose in the abstract. The 1 to 2 mg daily figures circulating on dosing sites are twenty to forty times the monkey dose and do not come from any published study.
What is the difference between Pancragen and Suprefort?
Suprefort is a peptide extract taken from pancreatic tissue and sold in capsules, with no single defined sequence. Pancragen is the synthetic tetrapeptide KEDW created as its defined-sequence counterpart. They are marketed for the same purpose but they are not the same substance, and the studies described on this page were done on Pancragen.
Is Pancragen approved for medical use?
No. The FDA has never reviewed it, and a search of the global clinical trials registry returns no registered trials of Pancragen or KEDW in any country. The compounds sold online are not medicines and are not dispensed against any approved label.
Why does the form of KEDW matter?
The studies used the amidated form, Lys-Glu-Asp-Trp-NH₂, which was deliberately capped to resist digestive enzymes. Most vendors ship the plain free acid. They share an abbreviation but they are different molecules, and the only place that difference appears is the molecular weight on a certificate of analysis.
Can Pancragen be taken with diabetes medication?
Not without a doctor's involvement. Pancragen and standard glucose-lowering drugs act on the same variable, which is exactly why one study compared them head to head. Combining them without supervision stacks two hypoglycaemic effects with no data on how they interact.
Is oral or injectable Pancragen better?
The published work does not settle it, and the two routes did different things. In the lab-model studies the glucose-lowering effect was reported for the oral route, while the injected form changed the behaviour of capillary lining cells without affecting permeability. The monkey and human work used injection.

Medical disclaimer. This article is informational and does not replace individual medical advice. Pancragen has no approved medical use, no registered clinical trials, and no published pharmacokinetic data. Blood sugar problems are diagnosed and treated by a clinician, and anyone taking insulin, a sulfonylurea, a GLP-1 medication or any other glucose-lowering drug should speak to their doctor before adding anything that acts on the same system.

Pancragen (20mg)

Recommended Supplier

In StockShips from USA

Pancragen (20mg)

Pancragen is the pancreas bioregulator this guide is about, and almost nobody stocks it as itself. From BioLongevity Labs: a 20mg vial of lyophilized Lys-Glu-Asp-Trp, tested by an independent lab against a lot-matched certificate of analysis. $94.97. Read the dosage section first — the published studies used micrograms, not milligrams.

Related Topics

pancragenbioregulatorkhavinsonpancreasblood-sugarinsulin-resistancepeptide-bioregulator2026